"A Sanctuary in the City… Living Faith"

The Session

Session training

The Session

In the Presbyterian Church (PCUSA) local Congregations govern themselves through an elected board called the Session. Session members serve for three years. Each year, one third of the Session members retire from Session and are replaced by members elected from the congregation, or agree to an additional three year term. This provides stability and continuity in governing the congregation. A senior Minister moderates the Session which is headed by the Clerk of Session, neither of whom are voting members of the session.


Allison Hammond

Clerk of Session


Richard Russell

Treasurer of the Corporation


Donald Meldrum

Moderator of the Finance Committee

Current Session Members:

Where the magic happens

Learn more about the committees behind the Session and the Kalamazoo First Presbyterian Church.


Learn more about the Deacons and how they serve under the Session.